Brief Introduction & Rules | What Is Twenty20 Cricket?

This post will guide you about the rules of Twenty20 Cricket and other details. Keep reading this for a full scoop.

Nowadays, the interest in cricket has increased among the youth. Especially one format among all the three formats of cricket has become more famous. It is Twenty20 cricket, also termed as T20 format. We have seen this T20 cricket format in international and domestic tournaments. However, a large number of people have a huge curiosity about T20 cricket. If you are one of them, this article is going to be the perfect one for you. So, considering that here we will be discussing a few things that will help you to get an overall idea of Twenty20 cricket.

What is Twenty20 cricket?

Twenty20 cricket is the shortest form that is currently played by all ICC-affiliated nations. Each team has twenty overs. In the limitation of overs, the players must score more runs than their opponents.

Actually. T20 cricket is an enhancement of the ODI format to make the game quicker, more furious, and more instant. The main intention behind the introduction of this format is to bring a new audience base to the cricket field. It is full of power-packed action that is appealing to the younger crowd. The purists of the game do not like this format, but if it brings large crowds towards the sport, it must be said good for the growth of the game overall.

However, T20 cricket is played on normal cricket pitches with typical one-day rules. But some exceptions are available too. Still, there are plenty of minor rules variations. The first international game of Twenty20 was played in Australia, between Pakistan and Australia A on January 13th, 2005 at the Adelaide Oval. However, the basic rules have evolved over the years as more and more matches are played.

Specific rules for Twenty20 cricket:

The rules of the T20 format mainly follow those typical 50-over cricket matches. But as we have mentioned in the early lines there are some exceptional differences, particularly for some specific rules. Here are the basic rules for the twenty20 cricket format.

  • Free Hit: The ‘Free Hit’ serves to penalize a bowler if the bowler delivers a no-ball by any chance. The Free Hit is awarded following such an unlawful infringement. Basically, it means that the Free Hit ball cannot dismiss a batter unless he is run out. The batter is essentially given a free swing, without fear of getting dismissed.
  • Bowl-outs: Alike the penalty shootout in many other sports, the ‘Bowl-out’ method takes place at the end of tied T20 matches. Five bowlers from each team have the permission to bowl twice targeting the wicket, with no batter defending in its way. The team to hit the wickets the most wins the match.
  • Five-run penalties: In T20 cricket, an umpire may declare five bonus runs to a team if the opposition wastes time needlessly. This is designed to maintain the flow and rules of a T20 match.
  • 75-minute time limits: Bowling sides are bound to finish their 20 overs within 75 minutes. A bonus of 6 runs is given to the batting teams if the bowling sides do not start their 20th over before their 75 minutes are up. Once again, this rule targets to regulate the rhythm of the T20 game.

The next rules:

  • The 90-second rule: Once a batter is dismissed in a T20 match, the next batter must take up the position on the pitch within the next 90 seconds. If they do not do so, they are potentially disqualified from batting in that match.
  • Bowling restrictions of T20: Once more, this rule is designed to favor the batting team. Individually, any bowler is only allowed to bowl for a total of 4 overs during a Twenty20 cricket match. This actually limits the damage that can be inflicted on the batters by a particular in-form bowler.
  • Fielding restrictions of T20: T20 cricket rules only allow five fielders to stand on the leg side of the batter. Similarly, only 2 fielders are permitted to stay outside of the inner circle in the span of the first 6 overs. This number increases to 5 fielders maximum in the rest 14 overs. These restrictions are removed to increase the flow of runs in the match, to attract more watching fans.

Wrap lines:

Recently, many ICC member nations have introduced cricket premier leagues with international players participating in them. Most of the tournaments are played in Twenty20 cricket format. However, the action of this format is quick and more likely to attract a bigger medium of audience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Best INR Betting Sites

100% Bonus up to ₹20,000


Deposit ₹1,000 Get Free ₹2,000


100% Deposit Bonus

Crickex INR

1.2% Unlimited Slots Rebate


Welcome Bonus up to ₹20,000