IPL Cricket: What Is It and How Did It All Begin?

Look at this article to learn more about IPL Cricket and its history. Read this article in its entirety for more details.

IPL cricket left an unbeatable impact on our lives. Indian professional Twenty20 (T20) cricket league was established in 2008. Based on a round-robin and knockout format, the league has teams in major Indian cities. The excitement for the matches is always at its peak, and affection for the game has increased.

The beginning:

With the invention of the BCCI, the IPL has developed into the most attractive and popular outlet for the game of cricket. Generally, the matches begin in the late afternoon or evening. So at least some are playable under floodlights at night to increase the television audience for worldwide broadcasts. IPL cricket league matches were initially playable on a home-and-away basis between all teams.

But, with the expansion to the teams, the format has been changed so that games between some franchisees would be limited to a single encounter. The top four teams contest three playoff matches, with one losing team being given a chance twice to reach the final, a wrinkle goal at maximizing potential television revenue. The playoff portion of the tournament involves the 4 teams that finished at the top of the list in a series of playoff games that allows one team that failed its first-round match a second chance to advance to the final match.

With the advent of IPL cricket, almost overnight, the world’s best cricket players—who had seldom made the type of money gained by their counterparts in other professional games—became millionaires. The owners of the IPL teams, who included giant companies, Bollywood film stars, and media moguls, bided for the best players in auctions organized by the authority. At the outset of the league, the well-financed Mumbai Indians had the biggest payroll, almost more than $100 million. It cost CSK $1.5 million to secure the services of MS Dhoni in the initial auction for the season of 2008 and the Kolkata Knight Riders $2.4 million to take Gautam Gambhir away. The opening batter for the national team in the bidding for 2011. However, the budget for the upcoming 2023-2027 season’s auction has been fixed at $6.2 billion.

The franchisees:

The 8 founding franchises were the Mumbai Indians (MI), the Chennai Super Kings (CSK), the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), the Deccan Chargers (now Sunrisers Hyderabad), the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals), the Punjab XI Kings (now Punjab Kings), the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), and the Rajasthan Royals (RR). In late 2010, 2 franchises, RR and Punjab, were suspended from the league by the BCCI for breaches of ownership policy. But they were reinstated in time for the 2011 matches. 2 new franchises, the Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Pune Warriors India joined the IPL cricket for the 2011 IPL. The Keralian club played just one year before the Indian cricketing board terminated its contract. In the year 2013, the Deccan Chargers reintroduced themselves in the IPL by the name of Sunrisers Hyderabad. Last year in 2022, two new teams introduce, named Gujrat Titans and Lucknow Supergiants.

The first IPL tournament took place over 44 days in 2008. Win by the Rajasthan Royals (RR). Rajasthan was one of the smaller-market franchises captained by Shane Warne, the legendary Australian spinner. With the arrival of the IPL’s success, other cricketing countries scrambled to grab some of the riches by forming their domestic T20 leagues. Australian cricket board took the initiative for Big Bash League, and Pakistan saw Pakistan Super League. Besides, Bangladesh, West Indies, South Africa, Sri Lanka, UAE, and many other cricket-loving countries have introduced different professional twenty-20 cricket leagues.


In 13 years, IPL cricket has seen many ups and downs, fall and rise, win and loss. The world has witnessed the legends of cricket hitting beyond the stadiums. Sectators shouted at the team’s win and cried at the losses. Their support and appreciation have meant much to the tournament since the first day. From DLF IPL to TATA IPL, the journey was challenging but exciting enough. In the middle, we have seen a few teams raised, naming Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Pune Warriors, etc. In the meantime, many fresh players went up with genuine talents. Even there were some talented, popular names we cannot remember today. They have lost somewhere in the flow of the craze.

Finale words:

After the IPL cricket introduction, international T20 cricket had a new way to develop. The acceptance of IPL among the entire fanbase was remarkable. This is how cricket has grown more famous and popular worldwide.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Best INR Betting Sites

100% Bonus up to ₹20,000


Deposit ₹1,000 Get Free ₹2,000


100% Deposit Bonus

Crickex INR

1.2% Unlimited Slots Rebate


Welcome Bonus up to ₹20,000