What Is Double Super Over In Cricket – Who Can Bat And Bowl

The concept of a Single and double Super Over in cricket acts as a tie-breaker that adds a special layer of excitement and thrilling drama to a contest.

A double super over or a second super over takes place in a cricket match if the first one concludes with a tie result.

Earlier, you might have observed double super overs in IPL, but have you wondered which was the first match when 2 super overs were conducted at the international level?

As a cricket fan, you too might doubt what if the 2nd super over of the match is tied. Will there be any 3rd super over?

Meanwhile, several confusions arise such as if the same bowler or batsmen perform in the 2nd super over as well.

Before understanding the ICC rules regarding double super-overs, you need to be familiar with the concept of single super-over. Moreover, it would be interesting to find out if a double super over has ever occurred in any T20I or ODI World Cup match.

What is a Super Over?

A Super Over in cricket happens in limited-overs formats such as the One-Day Internationals (ODIs) or Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) if both teams are tied at the end of a match. However, Super Overs are not applicable for red-ball cricket such as the test matches.

The rule is SIMPLE! Teams that have batted first in the match have to bat second in the super over or vice versa.

Typically, both teams get a chance to play six balls in a super over with two wickets in hand. It means that a team can select three batters and a single bowler.  A team that scores the maximum number of runs wins the match.

What Is Super Over in Cricket and Its Rules?

Double Super Over Rules

On 17th January 2024 (Wednesday), the 3rd match of the T20I series between India and Afghanistan witnessed the first double super over contest ever at the international level, thereby adding a new twist to the ICC Rules:

● The same Bowler cannot bowl the 2nd Super Over:

Bowlers who have bowled in the first Super Over cannot bowl again in the second Super Over. That is the reason, neither the Indian medium bowler Mukesh Kumar nor the Afghanistan medium fast bowler Azmatullah Omarzai didn’t bowl the 2nd super over.

As a result, Fareed Ahmad Malik bowled for Afghanistan whereas Ravi Bishnoi shouldered the huge responsibility for India.

● Batting Switch in 2nd Super Over:

Since the first batting side has to bat second in the initial super over, the batting switch rule is applicable for the second super over. In simpler terms, it means that no teams can participate in back-to-back chases of a super over. Therefore, you might be clear of the fact that teams batting first in the initial super over have to bat second or vice versa.

● The same Batters cannot bat in the 2nd Super Over:

A batter once dismissed in a Super over cannot bat again in the subsequent Super over. Conversely, if a batsman remains unbeaten can bat in the next super over.

For instance, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma retired himself out before the last ball of the first super over. His strategy was to allow Rinku Singh in as he can run faster than him and take a single to level the score and prepare for a double super over match.

However, Rohit Sharma wouldn’t have been eligible to bat in the second super over if he had retired out in the first super over. Surprisingly, Rohit Sharma batted the next super over as there was confusion if he was “retired out” or “retired not out”. It is because a batter who has retired due to illness, injury, or other unavoidable reasons can resume his or her innings. Also, the ICC still needs to confirm this matter in terms of double super over rules.

Overall, the IND vs AFG match was the first double super-over contest in T20 international cricket history that created many sensational moments as well as posed new challenges for ICC to scrutinize the rules.

Common Questions about the Rules of Double Super Over

On behalf of every cricket fan, the common questions about the double super over rules are answered below in detail:

Which was the first Double Super Over Match in IPL History? 

On 18th October 2020, the match between Mumbai Indians (MI) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) was the first double super over match in IPL history. Chasing a target of 15 runs in the second super over, the Punjab Kings defeated Mumbai Indians with two balls to spare.

IMPORTANT NOTE: The Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) franchise later changed its name to Punjab Kings (PBKS) in 2021.

Was any Double Super Over Match conducted in World Cup History?

Till now, there hasn’t been any double super over the contest in the Cricket World Cup history.

How did the concept of Double Super Over emerge in cricket?

The rule of 2 super overs came into existence after the ICC World Cup 2019 finals between England and New Zealand.

Especially, the tied super-over game in the finals forced the match officials to determine England as the defending champions based on the boundary count (maximum number of fours and sixes).

Later, the sport’s lawmakers introduced major changes in the rules by introducing subsequent super-overs rather than deciding the winner by analyzing their position in the points table and number of boundaries struck during the match.

What if the 2nd Super Over Concludes in a draw? 

There will be a 3rd super-over if the second one concludes in a draw, and it goes on till the exact winner is decided. Also, the basic concept of six balls and two wickets doesn’t change regardless of the number of super-overs played in a match. However, the cricket world is yet to witness a Triple Super Over in the upcoming days.


It is a fact that batters have gained a bit of an advantage over bowlers in super over contests. As a bowler cannot bowl in the second super over, the rule is completely different for batters who remain not out in the first super over.

The concept of a Single and double Super Over in cricket acts as a tie-breaker that adds a special layer of excitement and thrilling drama to a contest. Particularly during the knockout stages or final match of any tournament, this rule helps to determine the winner on a fair basis. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Best INR Betting Sites

100% Bonus up to ₹20,000


Deposit ₹1,000 Get Free ₹2,000


100% Deposit Bonus

Crickex INR

1.2% Unlimited Slots Rebate


Welcome Bonus up to ₹20,000