What is the Powerplay in Cricket Sport – A Full Guide

This post will discuss what a powerplay in cricket sport, so keep on reading this for a complete guide.

Cricket is a fun-loving sport. Also, it is one of the most famous sports in the world. There are some specific rules and laws that make the game more interesting and different from the others. Cricket powerplay is one of those vital laws that holds the authenticity of the sport. Here, we will explain what is a power play in cricket, along with a few more details.

What is a Powerplay in Cricket?

‍The Cricket Powerplay is a period during a match when some restrictions on field placements are vital. It allows the batting team to make more runs and gives them a benefit over the fielders‍. It consists of three following periods. The first phase is Power Play 1 (PP1), which is particularly crucial.

The PP1 spans the initial ten overs in ODIs and the first six in T20s. The fielding restrictions come into existence. These limitations mean only a few fielders can field outside the 30-yard circle. The process of aggressive batting and exciting play as batters aim to maximize their run-scoring chances.

How does a Cricket Powerplay work?

‍A power play is generally a particular span in a match where specific rules provide quite an advantage to the batters. In One Day International matches, the batting team can select when to call their power play, which lasts for the next five overs. Only three fielders were allowed outside the white inner circle during that period. It makes it easier for the batters to score runs.

On the other hand, the bowling team also has two power plays in ODI matches. The first one is mandatory. It will go for 10 overs, during which only 2 fielders can stand outside the inner circle. The second power play is optional. It lasts for 5 overs, where only three fielders are allowed to field outside the inner circle.

In T20 cricket, there are two types of power plays. The batting team will take their power play within the first 6 overs. During that span, only two fielders can field in the inner circle. The bowling team, accordingly, can take their power play any time between the seventh and fifteenth over.

Cricket Powerplay rules in ODI matches:

‍Cricket powerplay in One Day International matches refers to mandatory fielding limitations applied during different phases. ‍

  • Power Play 1 (PP1): PP1 encircles the first 10 overs of the innings. During this span, a maximum of two fielders can field outside the 30-yard circle. This restriction allows the batting team to score more boundaries.
  • Power Play 2 (PP2): PP2 follows just after PP1. It covers overs 11 to 40 of the innings. Similarly, only four fielders are allowed outside the inner circle.
  • Power Play 3 (PP3): PP3 is the final power play round. It is also called death overs and lasts from 41 to 50. During the PP3 phase, a maximum of five players are again allowed outside the 30-yard inner circle. It provides the bowlers with major protection to save big runs since the batter will attack at every delivery. 

Powerplay rules in T20 matches:

‍Cricket powerplay in T20 matches refers to the first 6 overs of the innings. During it, only two fielders are allowed to stay outside the 30-yard white circle. This rule provides an advantage to the batters. So, they have more open spaces to hit the ball and make quick runs.

However, the fielding team can also use this rule to their benefit by taking wickets early and putting pressure on the batting team. For instance, if a team loses two or three wickets during the power play period, scoring runs at a fast pace becomes harder.

During this phase, the remaining nine fielders, including the bowler and wicket-keeper, remain in the 30-yard circle. If there are more than two players outside the inner circle during a power play round, the umpires can indicate a no-ball, which might be a free hit for the batters.‍

The number of Cricket powerplay in a match can also be reduced depending on weather conditions or any unwanted reason. ‍After the powerplay ends, the bowling team may take up to five fielders outside the inner circle.

Last words:

In summary, this post offers insight into T20 and ODI powerplays. Evolving rules over two decades hold promise for the future. Cricket powerplay is an integral part introduced for providing advantages to the batters and the bowling teams, too. However, it increases the excitement of a cricket match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Best INR Betting Sites

100% Bonus up to ₹20,000


Deposit ₹1,000 Get Free ₹2,000


100% Deposit Bonus

Crickex INR

1.2% Unlimited Slots Rebate


Welcome Bonus up to ₹20,000