Which Country Has Won The Most ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy?

It would be interesting to find out the teams that have won most ICC World Cup Trophies in cricket history.

Among all the cricket-playing nations, Australia is the only team to win an ICC Cricket World Cup trophy 8 times (ODI-6, T20I-1 and WTC-1), which is the most by any team. Also, the Aussies lifted the Test match World Cup, known as the World Test Championship (WTC 2021-2023) by defeating India in the finals. If the Champions Trophy (in 2006 and 2009) is taken into account, the Australians have been the defending champions 10 times — the highest by any team in any ICC tournament.

Especially, in a grand tournament, the Aussies can perform under high pressure and deliver a solid performance.

Over the last 48 years, the ICC ODI World Cup has played for 12 times. Although the West Indies was the first team to win a World Cup trophy, the Aussies are hailed as the “King of World Cup”.

Whereas competitive teams like India, West Indies, England, and Pakistan couldn’t even manage to surpass the Aussies records.

It would be interesting to find out the teams that have won most ICC World Cup Trophies in cricket history.

Which Country Hosted The Most ICC Cricket World Cup?

5 Best Teams with Most ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy Wins

Starting from Australia to Pakistan, these are the 5 teams that have delivered their best performance to achieve ICC World Cup winnings for a maximum number of times:

1. AUSTRALIA (8 Times- 6 ODIs, 1T20I and 1 WTC) :

The Australians are the toughest competitors for any team to beat in the World Cup. They won their first title in 1987 by triumphing against England by 7 runs under Allan Border’s leadership.

Later, the Aussies won their second title in 1999 under Steve Waugh’s captaincy by defeating Pakistan in the finals by 8 wickets. However, Ricky Ponting made it easier for the Australian cricket team to achieve a hat-trick of World Cup wins and his leadership skills guided the Aussies to clinch the trophy as the unbeaten side of the tournament consecutively in 2003 and 2007. A massive win against India by 125 runs and a 53 run against Sri Lanka in the 2003 and 2007 finals, proved their domination during that time.

Again in 2015, the Australian cricket team won their fifth title at their home ground under the leadership of Michael Clarke by defeating New Zealand in the finals by 7 wickets.

In 2021, Aaron Finch led Australia to their maiden World Cup title by defeating New Zealand in the finals by 8 wickets.

But, it was in 2023 when the Aussies secured back-to-back wins in the World Test Championship and ODI World Cup led by Pat Cummins, thereby defeating India by 209 runs and 6 wickets respectively.

Especially, a massive victory on Indian soil during the 2023 World Cup ensured their domination in overseas pitch conditions.

2. WEST INDIES (4 Times- 2 ODIs and 2 T20Is):

The West Indies cricket team haven’t been able to win the ODI World Cup after 1975 and 1979 led by Clive Lloyd, the legendary cricketer from Guyana. However, they were on a journey to win their 3rd title in 1983 but lost to India in the finals. The Windies remained the strongest teams only in the late 1970s and 1980s.

On the other side, the West Indies remained dominant in the shorter format of white-ball cricket by winning the ICC T20 World Cup trophy both times led by Daren Sammy. The Caribbean side defeated Sri Lanka by 36 runs and England by 4 wickets in the 2012 and 2016 finals.

3. INDIA (3 Times – 2 ODIs and 1 T20I)

Despite reaching the ODI World Cup finals four times, Team India was crowned as the champions only two times.  In 1983 the Indian cricket team under the former legendary cricketer Kapil Dev’s captaincy defeated West Indies in the finals by 43 runs. After 28 years, the men-in-blue secured a 6-wicket victory against Sri Lanka in 2011 led by MS Dhoni on Indian soil. Shockingly, India lost both the World Cup finals against Australia in 2003 and 2023.

Whereas, the young Indian cricket team led by MS Dhoni won the inaugural edition of the World Cup in 2007 by winning against Pakistan by 5 runs.

4. ENGLAND (3 Times- 1 ODI and 2 T20Is):

Following a disheartening exit from the group stages of the ICC World Cup 2015, England skipper Eoin Morgan took responsibility and made a grand comeback in the next edition. As a result, England on their home ground secured their maiden World Cup win in 2019 by defeating New Zealand in a highly tense controversial final match. The winner was declared by calculating the boundary count (teams that hit the most number of fours and sixes in a match) after the match was tied in a super over.

Earlier, the England cricket team won their maiden T20 World Cup trophy in 2010 by securing a 7-wicket victory against the Aussies at Bridgetown, led by Collingwood. After 12 years, England under Jos Buttler’s captaincy won their 2nd title by defeating Pakistan in the finals by 5 wickets.

5. PAKISTAN (2 Times- 1 ODI and 1 T20I):

In 1992, Pakistan became the 2nd Asian team after India to lift the maiden World Cup trophy. They pulled off a remarkable victory by winning against England by 22 runs in the finals, under the leadership of Imran Khan.

In 2009, the Pakistan cricket team led by Younis Khan won their first T20 World Cup trophy in the 2nd edition of the tournament. Shahid Afridi’s brilliant knock of 54 runs from 40 balls (including 2 fours and 2 sixes) in the finals, helped his team chase the target of 139 runs in 18.4 overs against Sri Lanka at Lord’s.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Best INR Betting Sites

100% Bonus up to ₹20,000


Deposit ₹1,000 Get Free ₹2,000


100% Deposit Bonus

Crickex INR

1.2% Unlimited Slots Rebate


Welcome Bonus up to ₹20,000