Which Country Hosted The Most ICC Cricket World Cup?

England hosted the maximum number of cricket World Cup tournaments six times (5 ODIs and 1 T20I), which is the most compared to any other country.

Which country hosted the ICC Cricket World Cup most times?

England hosted the maximum number of cricket World Cup tournaments six times (5 ODIs and 1 T20I), which is the most compared to any other country. Later, other countries were granted the opportunity to host the prestigious tournament. As a result, India ranks at the 2nd position in the list for hosting the ICC World Cup for the maximum number of times. 

It was the first time that India and Pakistan jointly hosted the ICC World Cup in 1987. The popularity of cricket spread to other countries which resulted in countries like Sri Lanka and Bangladesh hosting the grand tournament.

Similarly, the inaugural edition of the ICC T20 World Cup was hosted by South Africa in 2007. It would be interesting to compare the performances of the countries that hosted the ICC World Cup most times in the ODI and T20I formats.

ENGLAND (6 Times- 5 ODIs and 1 T20I):

The ICC granted the hosting rights of the first three World Cups only to England in the years 1975, 1979 and 1983. However, they lost three consecutive semi-finals against Australia, New Zealand and India.

In 1999, England co-hosted the World Cup tournament for the fourth time along with other nations like Scotland, Netherlands, and Ireland. But, it proved to be a disastrous campaign as they couldn’t qualify for the super eight stages due to a poor net run rate than Zimbabwe and India.

For the first time, England hosted the ICC T20 World Cup in 2009 and qualified for the Super Eight Stages, but couldn’t succeed to enter into the semi-finals. 

In 2019, England and Wales jointly hosted the ODI World Cup. Ultimately, England became the defending champions by defeating New Zealand in the finals after the Super Over was tied. The victory was granted to the team that struck the most number of fours and sixes in that match.

INDIA (5 Times- 4 ODIs and 1 T20I):

After winning the 1983 World Cup, the popularity of the Indian cricket team skyrocketed to a peak level by gaining a huge fan following base.

In 1987, India, as the defending champions, co-hosted the tournament with its rival Pakistan. By winning 5 out of 6 matches in the tournament, the Indian cricket team reached the semi-finals but lost to England by 35 runs.

After 9 years, India co-hosted the tournament with Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Despite winning the quarter-finals against Pakistan by 39 runs, Team India couldn’t deliver a consistent performance in the semi-finals and lost to Sri Lanka by 131 runs.

Once again, India and Sri Lanka co-hosted the World Cup in 2011. Both these hosting nations locked horns against each other in the finals on 2nd April at Wankhede Stadium. The heroic knocks of Gautam Gambhir and MS Dhoni helped India clinch the World Cup trophy after 28 years.

For the first time, India solely hosted the ICC T20 World Cup 2016. Team India reached the semi-finals in the 6th edition of the T20 World Cup but lost to West Indies by 8 wickets.

In 2023, India was the sole hosting nation for the ICC ODI World Cup. The men-in-blue under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy advanced into the finals as the unbeaten side of the tournament by winning 10 matches on a trot. Unfortunately, Team India failed to counter-attack the strategies of the Aussies. As a result, the Australian cricket team won its 6th World Cup trophy on Indian soil.

Which countries hosted the ODI World Cup for Two Times?

Countries like Pakistan (1987 and 1996), New Zealand (1992 and 2015), Australia (1992 and 2015), Sri Lanka (1996 and 2011) and Wales (1999 and 2019) hosted the ODI World Cup twice.

Which countries hosted the ODI World Cup Once?

These are the eight countries that hosted the ODI World Cup once:

  • Scotland in 1999
  • Netherlands in 1999
  • Ireland in 1999
  • South Africa in 2003
  • Zimbabwe in 2003
  • Kenya in 2003
  • West Indies in 2007
  • Bangladesh in 2011

Who Is Favourite To Win Upcoming T20 World Cup 2024?


In 2023, India became the second nation to host the ODI World Cup solely. Although West Indies hosted the tournament in 2007, they wouldn’t be considered as sole hosts as they represent a sporting federation of 15 major English-speaking Caribbean countries and British and non-British territories.

The West Indies will be hosting the upcoming T20 World Cup in 2024 for the second time along with the USA that starts on 1st June. Ultimately, the forthcoming ODI World Cup in 2027 will be jointly hosted by South Africa, Namibia, and Zimbabwe. Finally, in 2031, India will co-host the ODI World Cup tournament along with Bangladesh. As a result, India will tally the record with England for hosting the most number of cricket World Cups (ODIs and T20Is).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Best INR Betting Sites

100% Bonus up to ₹20,000


Deposit ₹1,000 Get Free ₹2,000


100% Deposit Bonus

Crickex INR

1.2% Unlimited Slots Rebate


Welcome Bonus up to ₹20,000